Breeders’ Cup Turf 2023 Angles

Breeders’ Cup Turf winner Highland Reel (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)

By Jarrod Horak

The Breeders’ Cup Turf is one of the original seven BC races, and Lashkari (GB) was the initial winner at Hollywood Park in 1984. The 2023 renewal will be held at Santa Anita Park on Saturday, Nov. 4, and they will be traveling a mile and a half on the turf course.  

Recent Breeders’ Cup Turf Results 

Rebel’s Romance (IRE) rallied to win this race last year at 5-1 odds for James Doyle and Charles Appleby. He was the fifth horse owned by Godolphin to win the BC Turf. He won four straight including back-to-back Group 1 triumphs in Germany prior to shipping to Keeneland. 

In 2021, Yibir (GB) rallied to take the BC Turf at Del Mar for William Buick and Charles Appleby. He was 8-1 and was owned and bred by Godolphin. Prior to the BC, he shipped from Great Britain to Belmont Park and captured the Jockey Club Derby.  

Tarnawa (IRE) rallied for the win at 9-2 odds in 2020 for Colin Keane and Dermot Weld. He captured back-to-back Group 1 races at Longchamp in France prior to his BC win at Del Mar. 

The Santa Anita Years

The Breeders’ Cup Turf has been held at Santa Anita Park ten times. In 2003, there was a dead heat for the win between overseas shipper High Chaparral (IRE) and consistent local runner Johar. Stateside runners do better than average at Santa Anita Park. The Joe Hirsch Turf Classic at Belmont and the John Henry Turf Championship (formerly the Oak Tree Invitational/Clement L. Hirsch Memorial) at Santa Anita can be productive preps. 

The chart below shows all 11 winners of the BC Turf at Santa Anita, and it includes winning riders, trainers, post positions, running styles, win payoffs, and final preps. 

Breeders’ Cup Turf winners at Santa Anita Park (1986-2019)

Jockeys to Watch 

Frankie Dettori has won the Breeders’ Cup Turf five times (Daylami, Fantastic Light, Red Rocks, Dangerous Midge, Enable). 

Ryan Moore guided home four winners of this race (Conduit twice, Magician, Found). 

John Velazquez struck twice (English Channel, Main Sequence). 

Trainers to Watch

Aidan O’Brien saddled the winner of this event six times (High Chaparral twice, St Nicholas Abbey, Magician, Found, Highland Reel). 

Sir Michael Stoute owns four Breeders’ Cup Turf wins (Pilsudski, Kalanisi, Conduit twice).  

Andre Fabre sports a trio of wins (In the Wings, Shirocco, Talismanic). 

Charles Appleby won this race in 2021 and 2022 (Yibir, Rebel’s Romance). 

Saeed bin Surror trained two of Godolphin’s winners (Daylami, Fantastic Light).  

Breeders’ Cup Turf Trends

Since 2001, sixteen winners of this race were overseas shippers and seven were domestic runners. 2021 winner Yibir (GB) raced in this country once prior to his BC Turf victory. This is definitely a race for invaders. Seven of the last ten BC Turf winners shipped across the pond.

Check out these other Breeders’ Cup Saturday 2023 articles:

Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile 2023 Angles

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf 2023 Angles

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint 2023 Angles

Breeders’ Cup Mile 2023 Angles

Breeders’ Cup Distaff 2023 Angles